Cultural sights and attractions

Church of St. Euphemia: Above the old town center of Rovinj you can find the church of St. Euphemia, a catholic martyr and patron saint of the town. The legend has it that she became a patron saint of the town back in the year 800 when, after a great storm, her sarcophagus floated to Rovinj's coast. A boy pulled the sarcophagus up to the church with the help of two cows which was a miracle and for that reason she became worshipped as a saint. Today a Baroque church with a statue of the patron saint at the top of the bell-tower, it provides a stunning view of the entire town, while for the local seamen and fishermen it serves as a wind vane.

The town clock:
On the main town square tourists can check the time on the town clock dating from the 17th century. It used to be a tower underneath which there was a prison for minor crimes. On the front of the town clock there is a Venetian lion, the symbol of Serenissima. In the immediate proximity, only a few steps away, you can find a fountain built in 1959 where tourist can take a break and the town pigeons quench their thirst.

The Antonio Gandusio Theater:
In the late 13th century one of the town mayors, Nicole de Califfi, made a draft and initiated the construction of a Baroque, high-class theatre. The theatre building was finished at the end of the 19th century. It was named after an Italian actor born in Rovinj. In this heritage of the town of Rovinj local population and tourists can often enjoy watching unique theatre pieces and music and stage performances.

Balbi's Arch:
Close to the main town square there is the Balbi's Arch built during the time of Mayor Daniel Balbi, as proven by the very inscription on the stone plate, i.e. by two coat of arms of the Balbi Family next to the lion of St. Mark. The main town gate of the fortified town used to be at that same place, but was demolished in 1678/1679.

The town Palace with the old Town Hall:
What used to be a Praetorian Palace with prison on the ground floor is now the seat of town mayor and administration as well as an interesting tourist attraction. The town Palace's history dates back to the 14th century, while the restoration of the façade and atrium was carried out in the 19th century when the town coat of arms and coat of arms of Ventian families and families from Rovinj were put up.